Healthy Eats: Muesli

Muesli

Muesli

Muesli is one of my favorite breakfast foods. It has been a favorite of mine ever since I discovered it during one of my visits at Healthy Options. Today I’m going to share how I prepare my muesli.

But before I share how I prepare muesli, let me give you some information about muesli. Muesli was created by a Swiss physician, Maximilian Bircher-Benner. It is a mixture of rolled oats, grains, fresh or dried fruits, seeds and nuts. I read that you could mix muesli with juice, milk or yogurt. I’ve tried mixing muesli with milk and yogurt but I prefer mixing it with milk.

Now for the fun part, let’s prepare muesli.

What you'll need to prepare muesli

What you’ll need to prepare muesli

Ingredients:

Muesli

Milk

Chia seeds (optional)

Mason jar or container

Directions:

1. Pour muesli in a container. I usually add 1/3 cups of muesli.

dry ingredients

dry ingredients

2. Add chia seeds. (optional)

3. Add milk. I use soy milk since I’m lactose intolerant.

4. Seal your container.

5. Refrigerate. (optional)

See how easy it is to prepare muesli? I let my muesli soak overnight before I eat it to soften it up. But you could definitely eat it right away after mixing all the ingredients. I think one should try it soaked and not soaked so you’ll know which version you prefer. You could also top your muesli with fresh fruits.

I buy my muesli either in Healthy Options or SM Supermarket. You could try Bob’s Red Mill Old Country Style Muesli. It’s the first one I tried and I got hooked ever since. If you’re tired of eating oatmeal and cereal, you should definitely try muesli.

7 thoughts on “Healthy Eats: Muesli

  1. where can i get muesli in the PI???? There’s no Trader Joe’s and no Whole Foods in the PI and no one seems to wanna use the internet that much to advertise. Any help would be most appreciated. Thank you.

    • Hi obg! I buy muesli in Healthy Options and in SM Supermarket. I just bought Dorset muesli in SM Supermarket today since I heard it’s good. It’s either in the oats/cereal section or international section in SM Supermarkets. Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

