Ilocos Travelog

Calle Crisologo

Calle Crisologo

I went to Ilocos in April with Ivan and his friends. Let me share with you my travel experience to Ilocos.

Our journey to Ilocos started on April 24. My boyfriend and I met his friends in SM MOA since we will meet the driver there. Around 9:30 PM we departed SM MOA. We arrived in Bantay Church a couple of minutes before 6 AM.

Day 1

Bantay Church

Bantay Church

This is St. Augustine Parish Church but it is commonly known as Bantay Church. This is our very first stop in Ilocos Sur.

Bell Tower

Bell Tower

Since I was still too sleepy to walk around, I didn’t go to the Bell Tower. I just took a picture of it.

Hidden Garden

Hidden Garden

After visiting Bantay Church, we headed to Hidden Garden restaurant for breakfast. The place was packed with tourists. The service is so slow, and the food was just okay. I wouldn’t recommend eating here.

Crisologo Museum

Crisologo Museum

After breakfast we headed to Crisologo Museum. I took a lot of pictures inside the museum but the picture that stood out the most is this one. It has a creepy vibe to it. I really wish they’d remove those captions or that at least they’d make a better one.

Baluarte

Baluarte

Next stop was Baluarte. It’s a really big zoo. Most animals are free to roam around, except for some animals like tigers and snakes.

Paoay Church

Paoay Church

No trip to Ilocos would be complete without visiting Paoay Church. This church is too beautiful. I hope they’d be able to preserve it.

La Paz Sand Dunes

La Paz Sand Dunes

We then went to La Paz Sand Dunes and rode a 4×4. It was so fun! The ride was very bumpy. It’s like a roller coaster ride from going uphill and downhill. This is a must try experience when in Ilocos.

Empanada at Malakanyang ti Amianan

Empanada at Malakanyang ti Amianan

My first bite at Ilocos empanada for this trip was at Malakanyang ti Amianan. We didn’t go inside Malakanyang since we were so tired from all the walking and riding the 4×4 so we just decided to rest and eat. I love Ilocos empanada! I’ve loved it since I first had a bite four years ago. Now I’m craving for one as I type this post.

Day 2

Cape Bojeador

Cape Bojeador

Our first stop in Ilocos Norte is at Cape Bojeador. It was being renovated so we didn’t get the chance to get a closer look unlike when I first went here.

Kapurpurawan Rock Formation

Kapurpurawan Rock Formation

We then went to Kapurpurawan Rock Formation. It was so hot that day but that didn’t stop us from going to the rock formation.

Bangui Windmills

Bangui Windmills

Here is a stolen shot of me by Ivan.

Papa Nard's

Papa Nard’s

For lunch, we headed to Papa Nard’s which is a carinderia.

Papa Nard's Ilocano Dishes

Papa Nard’s Ilocano Dishes

I ordered Ilocano dishes at Papa Nard’s: Bagnet, Ilocos Longganisa, Pinakbet, Pinapaitan. Bagnet as always was good. Pinakbet wasn’t too salty. What disappointed me is the Pinapaitan, it’s not bitter at all.

Kabigan Falls

Kabigan Falls

After having lunch, we went to Kabigan Falls. Kabigan Falls is a 20-30 minute trek, depending on your pace. It was really hot so when we arrived in the falls, I decided to take a dip. The water was so cold but it felt really refreshing.

Empanada after swimming at Kabigan Falls

Empanada after swimming at Kabigan Falls

On our way back, we bought empanada. I could easily eat two to three in one sitting.

Day 3

Calle Crisologo

Calle Crisologo

Our last day in Ilocos is mostly reserved for souvenir shopping at Calle Crisologo. I got to buy chichacorn and chichapop in Calle Crisologo.

Cafe Leona

Cafe Leona

After souvenir shopping, we had lunch at Cafe Leona.

Cafe Leona Pinakbet Pizza

Cafe Leona Pinakbet Pizza

I’ve read so much about Cafe Leona’s Pinakbet Pizza so we ordered one.

Cafe Leona Pinakbet Pizza

Cafe Leona Pinakbet Pizza

What’s amazing is that it really tastes like Pinakbet. Good job Cafe Leona. This is a must try dish.

Cafe Leona Bagnet Roll

Cafe Leona Bagnet Roll

Cafe Leona’s Bagnet Roll is also a must try dish. I could eat this all to myself.

 

2 thoughts on “Ilocos Travelog

Leave a Reply

