The Lunch Lady in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Vietnam's The Lunch Lady

Vietnam’s The Lunch Lady

During my trip to Ho Chi Minh CIty, Vietnam last January, I had the chance to go to the infamous the “Lunch Lady.” Read on to find out what the Lunch Lady served us.

If you’ve watched Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations, you probably have watched him feature Saigon’s The Lunch Lady. So during my trip to Saigon with good friends last month, we made sure to drop by at The Lunch Lady. The Lunch Lady serves different noodle soup every day. Her customers are mostly local people who live or work nearby.

The easiest way to get to the Lunch Lady is by taking a taxi. We showed the taxi driver our destination and he brought us to Hoang Sa St. From Hoang Sa St. We walked towards the middle of a street, which I don’t know what that street is and Google Maps isn’t helping with the street name. The Lunch Lady is situated at the middle of the street.

We didn’t speak any Vietnamese so when we got there, they just served us fried spring rolls and then fresh spring rolls. I liked both of the spring rolls but I enjoyed the fresh spring rolls better.

Lunch Lady Fried Spring Rolls

Lunch Lady Fried Spring Rolls

The fried spring rolls were good though it was a bit oily which is common for anything deep-fried dish.

Lunch Lady Fresh Spring Rolls

Lunch Lady Fresh Spring Rolls

The fresh spring rolls had this leaf sticking out but I think it gives the spring rolls a fresh taste to it. I’m not sure what the leaf was but I liked having it with the spring rolls. The spring rolls taste even better with the sauce that they gave us. I’m not sure what the sauce is, maybe it’s hoisin sauce?

Sauce for Spring Rolls

Sauce for Spring Rolls

Fresh Spring Roll dipped in Sauce

Fresh Spring Roll dipped in Sauce

For our noodle soup, the lunch lady served us what I think is Bun Moc. I’m not really sure if it definitely is Bun Moc but I do know that it’s not Pho. Upon research, I found out that bun moc is made from pork-based broth, vermicelli rice noodles and other meat.

Lunch Lady Bun Moc

Lunch Lady Bun Moc

The broth is a bit sweet. The noodles are still firm to the bite. I love that it has so many toppings though I can’t enumerate most of them. I know that there is pork meat and beef balls. This was the best noodle soup I’ve tried during our trip (though I only tasted two noodle soup.) There was one meat that had this really savory taste. It’s the one that looks like it’s wrapped in seaweed at the very top of the picture, it looks weird but it tasted so good. They gave us a free refill of the soup when we were almost done with the soup.

If I had a longer stay in Vietnam I’d probably visit the Lunch Lady every single day. I like to be surprised by what the Lunch Lady will serve each day. I know that I won’t get tired of her dishes since she serves different dishes daily.

Lunch Lady
23 Hoang Sa St., District 1
Phuong Da Kao, District 1 (Quan 1)
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

4 thoughts on “The Lunch Lady in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Leave a Reply

