Fab Food Finds Fridays: Cupcakes by Sonja’s Pepper Cupcake

Cupcakes by Sonja's Pepper Cupcake

Cupcakes by Sonja’s Pepper Cupcake

Ever since I saw Cupcakes by Sonja’s Pepper Cupcake post on Facebook, I started to lust over their new addition to their variety of cupcakes.

I saw Cupcakes by Sonja’s Pepper Cupcake post last Sunday so I planned to have my cupcake fix the following day before I head to work. One of the advantages of having a 2PM to 10PM shift is that I could go to the mall before work. I dropped by their SM North EDSA branch and purchased my Pepper Cupcake to go.

Sonja's Cupcake Box

Sonja’s Cupcake Box

When I got to the office I was really excited but since I have my baon (packed lunch) for lunch, I planned on eating the cupcake for merienda (snack time). The box was at my desk the entire time waiting to be opened so when the clock strike at 4PM, I went to our pantry to eat the cupcake.

Cupcakes by Sonja describes their Pepper Cupcake as “a chocolate cupcake with Belgian chocolate filling, smothered with a creamy cayenne pepper and fresh chili infused chocolate frosting and topped with crunchy Valrhona chocolate pearls.” 1

Cupcakes by Sonja's Pepper Cupcake

Cupcakes by Sonja’s Pepper Cupcake (P120)

The cupcake has a generous frosting just like their other cupcakes. The frosting is layered evenly on top of the cupcake instead of decorating the cupcake using a piping tip. On the center of the cupcake sits a chili icing surrounded by “crunchy Valrhona chocolate pearls.”

The Pepper Cupcake is very moist. The cupcake Belgian chocolate filling is very creamy. I really like the idea of putting Belgian chocolate filling in this cupcake. The only problem is the filling makes the cupcake crumble easily making it so messy to eat.

Cupcakes by Sonja's Pepper Cupcake

Cupcakes by Sonja’s Pepper Cupcake

The frosting is made from chocolate making this cupcake on the sweet side. Aside from chocolate, the frosting is infused with cayenne pepper and fresh chili pepper giving this cupcake that spicy kick. I really like chocolates with a hint of spiciness but it would’ve been better if they used dark chocolate for the frosting since the Belgian filling is already on the sweet side.

Now for the fun part. Pepper partnered with Cupcakes by Sonja to create this Pepper Cupcake. They are also giving away 54 cupcakes per day if you figure out their password. You could read about the details of the giveaway here.

This cupcake is a bit more expensive compared to their other cupcakes so I suggest that you put your thinking caps on and start cracking the password. I have my guess already and I really hope that my guess is correct. I really want to devour a Pepper Cupcake once again.

Cupcakes by Sonja
2/F SM City North EDSA, North Ave
Sto. Cristo, Quezon City

10 thoughts on “Fab Food Finds Fridays: Cupcakes by Sonja’s Pepper Cupcake

Leave a Reply

