Tea Time Tuesdays: Mr. Pete’s Lemongrass Tea

Mr. Pete Lemongrass Tea

Mr. Pete Lemongrass Tea

For today’s Tea Time Tuesdays, I’m featuring a tea that is locally made here in the Philippines. It is Lemongrass Instant Herbal Tea from the brand Mr. Pete Herbal Creations.

So what is lemongrass? Lemongrass is a plant that is widely used in different Asian cuisines especially Thai cuisine. Thais love using lemongrass when cooking. Love Tom Yum Soup? It is made with different herbs and spices with lemongrass as the key ingredient.

Lemongrass is not only used in cooking. According to WebMD, lemongrass is also used for treating digestive tract spasms, stomach ache, high blood pressure, convulsions, pain, vomiting, cough, achy joints (rheumatism), fever, the common cold, and exhaustion.

Lemongrass Sachet

Ivan gave me this box of Lemongrass Herbal Tea because he didn’t like the taste of this tea. Since I’m always game for trying something new, even though Ivan already didn’t like this, I accepted the box of tea.

Mr. Pete Lemongrass Tea

Mr. Pete Lemongrass Tea

At the back of the box, you’ll read other benefits of drinking lemongrass tea. It is stated in the box that lemongrass is beneficial due to its “Citral” component which has antioxidant properties. This tea is diuretic so it detoxifies the body. I’m all for detoxifying the body so I really hope that the benefits mentioned in the box are indeed true.

Lemongrass powder

This tea is in powder form that you mix in with hot or cold water. I like my tea hot so I used hot water to mix the lemongrass tea.

P1010271

The lemongrass tea has that citrusy and earthy scent to it. As for the taste, it tastes like lemongrass with a hint of sweetness due to Stevia. This tea doesn’t have a strong taste to it. Lemongrass tea doesn’t have a leafy taste as well.

Overall, Mr. Pete’s Lemongrass Herbal Tea is a tea that I’ll definitely drink when I have an upset stomach. Though I don’t think that I’ll be reaching for it constantly. This tea is also good to drink before bed time since this is caffeine free.

2 thoughts on “Tea Time Tuesdays: Mr. Pete’s Lemongrass Tea

Leave a Reply

