Disappointing Meze at Mister Kabab

Mister Kabab

If you’ve read my post last Friday about the Cafe Mediterranean, you’ll know that I love hummus, baba ganoush, tabbouleh and other meze. I loved the Cafe Mediterranean’s meze so much that I was craving for more meze. Good thing there is a Mister Kabab in UP AyalaLand Technohub so I asked Kaye if we could eat at Mister Kabab.

I already ate my packed lunch that day so I just ordered moutabal. Moutabal is a mashed eggplant with tahina (sesame paste), lemon, garlic and olive oil.

Mister Kabab Moutabal

Mister Kabab Moutabal (P105)

Moutabal looks like hummus that so it’s easy to mistake moutabal as hummus. Mister Kabab’s Moutabal tasted bland. I was expecting that this moutabal would have a smoky taste but it doesn’t. The pungent taste of garlic is there. But it tasted just like hummus which shouldn’t be the case since moutabal is made of grilled eggplant. Unless they fried the eggplant then the moutabal would not have that smoky taste to it. I was very disappointed with Mister Kabab’s moutabal.

Mister Kabab Pita Bread

Mister Kabab Pita Bread (P20)

The moutabal doesn’t come with a pita bread so I had to order one for P20. So my meal costs P135 which is expensive for something that I didn’t even like. The Cafe Mediterranean’s Baba Ganoush only costs P120 with the Regular Pita and P130 for the Whole Wheat Pita. From now on I’m sticking to Cafe Mediterranean for my meze cravings.

Mister Kabab's Pizza

Mister Kabab’s Pizza (P140)

Migs, Kaye’s husband, ordered this pizza which has beef, olives, cheese, tomato and onion. I didn’t get to taste this since it’s so small that Migs wouldn’t even get full after eating this. He said that the pizza wasn’t good. Looking at the picture above, it seems like there aren’t even enough beef or other ingredients aside from the cheese.

Mister Kabab Lamb Persian Burger

Mister Kabab Lamb Persian Burger (P135)

This pita sandwich is Mister Kabab’s version of burger. Kaye ordered this dish and we were expecting that the lamb would come in two buns but it came in a pita bread. This burger comes with cucumber and tomato. I was able to try this one and it was really good. Kaye definitely had the best meal among the three of us. The lamb is cooked really well.

Overall, I’m disappointed with the dishes that we ordered. I could get a more decent Middle Eastern meal at a cheaper price. I also noticed that their garlic sauce tasted different from the one that I tasted in 2011. The next time I eat here I’ll stick with their Shawarma Plate and Chelo Kabab.

Mister Kabab UP AyalaLand Technohub
2F UP AyalaLand TechnoHub, Commonwealth Ave
Diliman, Quezon City
(02) 332-3935

9 thoughts on “Disappointing Meze at Mister Kabab

  1. It would be on March 8 at Mercato Centrale, Bonifacio Global City, from 6pm-11pm. It’s called Foodgasm.

  2. It’s really hard to eat other dishes aside from your favorites because sometimes, they won’t meet your expectations. But then again, we should try the other dishes at least once, right? Hehehe.

  3. Pingback: Foods I Regret Buying Vol. I | Edible Cravings

Leave a Reply

