Fab Food Finds Fridays: The Cafe Mediterranean’s Meze and Beef Gyro

The Cafe Mediterranean

The Cafe Mediterranean

I’ve been passing by The Cafe Mediterranean in SM Mall of Asia and SM North EDSA for the longest time. I always tell myself that I’ll eat there next time. Finally I got to eat there one fine day in February.

Ivan wanted to eat at Jatujak after seing my post on Instagram about a canned Thai Tea by Taste Nirvana. Since I was recently in Thailand, I wasn’t really in the mood for Thai food. I only had one restaurant in mind that day: The Cafe Mediterranean.

I know that Ivan is not a big fan of Mediterranean food, we probably won’t eat here again, so I made sure to order dishes that I really wanted to try from this restaurant without really thinking about the cost of the dishes. The Cafe Mediterranean offers many dishes such as salad, pasta, pizza, burger, kebabs, gyros and gyro plates.

News Cafe Middle Eastern Combo

News Cafe Middle Eastern Combo ($8.75)

Let’s flashback for a bit. During summer of 2009, my family went to Miami Beach for some fun under the sun. In Miami Beach I tasted the best Meze I’ve had in this restaurant called News Cafe. Ever since that summer of 2009, I’ve been looking for restaurants that offers Meze delicious Meze. I’m glad that I decided for us to eat at The Cafe Mediterranean because they offer Meze that compares to the one  I’ve tried in News Cafe.

The Cafe Mediterranean Sampler Plate of 3

The Cafe Mediterranean Sampler Plate of 3 (P260)

Pita Bread

Pita Bread

I ordered this Sampler Plate of 3 which consist of Falafel, Tapenade, and Hummus. The Sampler Plate of 3 comes with two pita bread. I immediately tear a small part of the pita bread and dipped it in Hummus. I felt like I was in heaven after just a single bite. I let Ivan try pita with Hummus and Tapenade but he really didn’t like those two. He at least liked the Falafel. As for me, I enjoyed all three. I mixed and matched all three and enjoyed it so much. I even used their two sauces with the Meze and I still think it’s good.

The Cafe Mediterranean Grilled Beef Gyro

The Cafe Mediterranean Grilled Beef Gyro (P135)

My boyfriend ordered this Grilled Beef Gyro. He didn’t really enjoy his meal but I find that it tasted good when I tried it. I guess he’s just prejudiced since he really wanted to eat at Jatujak that day.

The Cafe Mediterranean Grilled Beef Gyro

The Cafe Mediterranean Grilled Beef Gyro

The only draw back is it’s a bit small. If you have a huge appetite, this won’t satisfy your hunger.

The Cafe Mediterranean Sauces

The Cafe Mediterranean Sauces

I like The Cafe Mediterranean’s sauce. Both tasted fresh. The red one is very spicy so just put a little of this in your meal for that hint of spice.

The Cafe Mediterranean Grilled Beef Gyro Plate

The Cafe Mediterranean Grilled Beef Gyro Plate (P335)

Since I haven’t had lunch that day, I ordered Grilled Beef Gyro Plate with Buttered Rice for my main dish. Their gyro plates are served with Baba Ganoush, Tzatziki, Tabbouleh and Pickled Chillies on the side. So it’s like I ordered a Sampler Plate of 5 since the side dishes in the Gyro Plate are also offered in the Sampler Plates.

Tzatziki, Tabbouleh, Grilled Beef, and Baba Ganoush with Buttered Rice

Tzatziki, Tabbouleh, Grilled Beef, and Baba Ganoush with Buttered Rice

I must say, everything in this Gyro Plate tasted good! See how the beef is still a little red in the middle? The beef was cooked just right. The doneness of the beef makes it tender and juicy. The Meze in this dish are good as well wether you eat them alone, eat them with beef and rice, or eat it with pita; it would still taste pretty damn good.

Service was pretty good too. Whenever we needed a refill of water, they’d go get a pitcher of water right away. When I asked for tissue, they gave us a bunch of tissue in a snap. If you’re looking for a restaurant that serves delicious Meze, the Cafe Mediterranean is the restaurant for you. I know that I’ll definitely be back to The Cafe Mediterranean. I want to try their Grilled Lamb Gyro Plate next time.

The Café Mediterranean SM Mall of Asia
G/F SM Mall of Asia, Entertainment Mall, Seaside Blvd
Manila Bay Reclamation Area, Pasay
(02) 556-0650

5 thoughts on “Fab Food Finds Fridays: The Cafe Mediterranean’s Meze and Beef Gyro

  1. Pingback: Disappointing Meze at Mister Kabab | Edible Cravings

Leave a Reply

