Going Thai: What I ate in Bangkok

Temple of the Emerald Buddha

Temple of the Emerald Buddha

It’s been a month since I went to Bangkok, Thailand. I already shared with you the Thai tea I had each day that I was in Bangkok, read about them here. Now I’d like to share with you different foods and drink I had while in Bangkok and also some of our pictures in Bangkok.

On our first day in Thailand, we had a full day tour. We visited the Royal Grand Palace first. The Royal Grand Palace is so beautiful. This place is really fit for a King.

Outside Royal Grand Palace

Outside Royal Grand Palace

IMG_7922

IMG_7936

Group picture with travel buddies

Group picture with travel buddies

We also went to Wat Pho to see the famous Reclining Buddha. I have megalophobia but the Reclining Buddha didn’t trigger my fear of large objects unlike New York’s Statue of Liberty that really scared the bejeezus out of me. If the Reclining Buddha was standing, I’d probably not go anywhere near it. But that wouldn’t be called Reclining Buddha anymore.

Inside Wat Pho with the Reclining Buddha

Inside Wat Pho with the Reclining Buddha

Group picture with the Reclining Buddha

Group picture with the Reclining Buddha

Wat Arun

Wat Arun

A closer look at Wat Arun

A closer look at Wat Arun

Second level of Wat Arun

Second level of Wat Arun

After our tiring walk around Royal Grand Palace and Wat Pho and climb up at Wat Arun, we were famished. So we stopped by and grabbed something to eat at the ferry port.

Pork, Crab, and Wanton Noodle

Pork, Crab, and Wanton Noodle

The picture above is the very first authentic Thai meal I had in Thailand. It’s noodle soup with pork, crab meat, and wanton. I liked it very much.

Fresh Dragonfruit Juice

Fresh Dragonfruit Juice

To wash down my noodle soup, I bought this fresh dragon fruit juice.

Cha-yen or Thai milk tea

Cha-yen or Thai milk tea

I also bought this Thai milk tea which is sold in front of the fresh fruit juice stand. I can’t decide which drink to buy so I bought two drinks.

Fried Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

Fried Tofu with Sweet and Spicy Sauce

On our way back to the van, we passed by this vendor which sells fried banana, sweet potato balls, tofu, and spring roll vegetable. My friends tricked me into buying fried tofu so I did. I was glad that I did buy the fried tofu, at THB20, it was well worth my money. I love the  sweet sauce that it came with. It’s sweet and and a little spicy.

Golden Buddha

Golden Buddha

After our filling lunch, we were ready to continue our tour so we went to Wat Trimitr which houses the Golden Buddha. Unlike the Reclining Buddha, the Golden Buddha is small and non-threatening at all.

Our tour finished around 4PM so the tour guide dropped us off at our hotel. We rested for a bit and then we headed out of the hotel to go to Platinum Mall to do a little bit of shopping. We got to shop a little but since we’re scared of staying out too late (and since the mall is closing by 7PM,) we headed out of Platinum Mall to grab something to eat.

Since I was really starving, I bought the first food that I saw. We passed by a food cart that sells this crepe looking food. I ordered one that had pork floss, cashew nuts, hot sauce, and some sugar.

Bangkok Crepe

Bangkok Crepe

Here’s my Bangkok crepe with all of the toppings.

Crepe in Clear Plastic

My order in its clear plastic bag. This has that sweet and spicy taste to it. It was quite huge. I already shared it with my friends but we still had a hard time finishing it.

Crepe like

Mandatory selfie with my food.

Pork

I also bought this Bangkok style pork BBQ. It tasted like tocino to me. It was good. I paid THB10 for one stick.

Pad Thai Street Food

We also ordered Pad Thai near Pratunam area. Here I am at the Pad Thai food cart.

Spicy Pad Thai

Spicy Pad Thai

Here’s my spicy Pad Thai that costs THB40. The taste was just ordinary, nothing special to it. It was very spicy since the chili was cooked with the noodles. I found it a little unbearable to eat so I had to drink water with every bite. I was too full after eating this Pad Thai.

Welcome to Floating Market

Welcome to Floating Market

On our second day, we were scheduled to go to the Damnoen Saduak Floating Market. My friends already warned me that goods will be a lot expensive there so I didn’t really buy anything in the floating market. But we did eat there.

Mandatory group picture before we start our Damnoen Saduak Floating Market experience

Mandatory group picture before we start our Damnoen Saduak Floating Market experience

Damnoen Saduak Floating Market

Damnoen Saduak Floating Market

Damnoen Saduak Pad Thai

Here I am with the Pad Thai that Aki ordered. This Pad Thai is way better than the one that we ordered the night before. But this is more expensive. I think this costs THB100.

After our floating market tour, we bought food once again.

Chicken & Pork Satay

Chicken & Pork Satay

Here’s my chicken and pork satay. This is good. I liked the chicken satay better.

IMG_8261

Here I am on our way to MBK Mall. Our van had to drop us off on the road leading to MBK road. Vans are rerouted since there was ongoing protest around MBK Mall while we were there. Our tour guide lead the way to MBK Mall.

IMG_8231

Here is another picture outside MBK Mall.

When we got to MBK Mall we checked out their stalls. Since we were going to Pratunam Night Market, I decided not to buy anything in MBK Mall. We ate lunch in MBK’s the fifth Food Ave.

Beef Soup

This is the soup that came with my Fried Rice meal. This soup tastes gross. I just had one spoon and I couldn’t stomach the taste.

Fried Rice with Beef Vietnamese Style

Fried Rice with Beef Vietnamese Style

This is my Fried Rice with Beef Vietnamese Style. This fried rice tastes quite good actually. This fried rice is good for two people so my friend and I split up this rice meal.

On our way out of MBK Mall, we saw Baskin Robbins. I bought a single scoop Old Fashioned Butter Pecan which is my favorite flavor from Baskin Robbins.

Baskin Robbins in MBK Mall

Baskin Robbins in MBK Mall

All smiles since I was able to taste once again Baskin Robbins’ Old Fashioned Butter Pecan ice cream.

For our dinner we settled for this noodle place.

Noodles Roasted Duck with Shrimp Dumplings

Noodles Roasted Duck with Shrimp Dumplings (THB70)

I got a large bowl of Noodles Roasted Duck with Shrimp Dumplings for THB70. This noodle soup tasted good.

Last Dinner at Bangkok

Here’s a mandatory group picture on our last night at Bangkok.

IMG_1561

Here’s our bill during our last dinner. We had a hard time figuring out which order was ours. But good thing their menu had pictures to it.

Overall, I don’t think we had food in Bangkok that tasted phenomenal. We weren’t able to go to the suggested foodie areas since there were protests in those areas. I guess I’ll need to go back to Thailand to have a taste of the most delicious Pad Thai.

16 thoughts on “Going Thai: What I ate in Bangkok

  1. Wow. Nice trip and photos. Too bad about the soup and demonstrations. The souvenirs in the floating market are really more expensive than those on the streets.

    For some reason, I can’t find the like button but I really like this post!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

