Snacks I bought in Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam

Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam Food Haul

Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam Food Haul

Whenever I’m in a foreign place (be it a foreign country or a province in the Philippines,) I try to look for that place’s local delicacy for me to take home. There are two reasons why I buy snacks from a foreign place: 1)  foods or snacks are good souvenirs for your loved ones since they’ll also have a taste of that place just by bringing them a place’s local delicacy; 2) I usually have travel hangovers which could be eased by eating a local delicacy of where I’ve been to.

Here are the snacks and drink that I bought from Thailand. I love sunflower seeds so when I saw this at 7-11 in Thailand, I immediately grabbed one.

Sunflower Kernels

Sunflower Kernels

Thailand is popular for their tamarind snacks and candies so I bought this individually wrapped plum tamarind candy.

Moniegold Plum Tamarind Candy

Moniegold Plum Tamarind Candy

Durian chips is by far my favorite snack buy from my trip to Thailand. I featured this on last week’s Fab Food Finds Fridays.

Durian Chips

Durian Chips

The only drink that I brought home is this Betagen Light which is a probiotic drink just like Yakult. This cultured milk drink only has 2% sugar and 0% fat.

Betagen Light

Betagen Light

Products I bought from Cambodia include this mix dried chips which consist of sweet potato, banana, and taro.

Potato, Banana, Taro Chips

Potato, Banana, Taro Chips

I also bought loose leaf Lotus tea, Green tea, and Jasmine tea from Cambodia. I have only tried Lotus tea which tasted like dried flowers. I do hope the Jasmine tea is good.

Lotus Tea, Green Tea, Jasmine Tea

Lotus Tea, Green Tea, Jasmine Tea

The only food item I bought in Vietnam is this 1/4 kg Pistachio nuts.

Unsalted Pistachios

Unsalted Pistachios

I definitely miss Thailand, Cambodia, and Vietnam. I was able to consume my durian chips already and I’m left wanting more. I do home I find a local reseller of durian chips here in Manila.

Aside from their snacks, I enjoyed the meals that I had from those countries. Stay tuned for my blog post about the meals I had from Thailand, Cambodia, and Vietnam. I’m still sorting around 2000 photos from our trip so it might take a while.

9 thoughts on “Snacks I bought in Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam

      • Hmmm…I don’t know if this is recommended, but what I do is I boil some water in a stove pot first then add in the leaves, pouring it into a tea pot with a built-in strainer so I don’t get leaf bits in every cup.

        The tea pot I mentioned above is available in Japan Home Center for P88 and holds about 3-4 cups (no idea if it’s still available, though) – for the press and strainer, you can try Japan Home Center too or Gourdo’s.

        Hope this helps. 🙂

      • I checked out Saizen in Trinoma but I didn’t find a tea pot. Japan Home Center in Trinoma is too small so I doubt they’ll have it there. I’ll try their other branches. Thanks for the info!

Leave a Reply

