Fab Food Finds Fridays: Thailand’s Durian Monthong Chips

Thailand Durian Monthong Chips

Thailand Durian Monthong Chips (THB100)

It’s Fab Food Finds Fridays once again. Today I’ll be featuring Durian Monthong chips from Thailand. The first time I tasted Durian Monthong chips was November 2012. A friend who visited Thailand gave me Durian chips. I fell in love with it right away.

Durian Monthong chips are made from unripe Durian. The unripe Durian is sliced thinly and then fried in vegetable oil. Once the durian chips turns yellow or golden, it is removed from the pan and placed in strainer or paper towels to remove excess oil. It is then sprinkled with salt to taste.

Thailand Durian Monthong Chips

Thailand Durian Monthong Chips

It tastes kind of like pistachios. It has that addicting taste to it just like pistachios. It has that buttery taste to it as welll. I just couldn’t stop eating Durian Monthong chips when I start eating it.

I’m quite pissed at myself for not buying a lot of Durian chips at that store while I was in Thailand. Thinking that I’d be able to find Durian chips everywhere in Bangkok, I only bought one small bag for 100THB since I’m not familiar with the pricing of the chips.  Since there were rallies in Bangkok, we didn’t get to go near malls and shopping areas  where Durian Chips are sold. We were also doing a lot of touring so we didn’t have time to look for Durian chips sellers. I still cringe at the thought that I was there in Bangkok but I wasn’t able to hoard Durian chips.

I’m currently looking for Durian Monthong chips resellers in Manila just so I don’t need to go back to Bangkok to taste the delicious goodness of Durian Chips. If you know where I could buy a pack, please do comment below where I could buy one. If you haven’t tried Durian Chips and you know someone going to Thailand, make sure to tell them to bring you home some Durian chips.

7 thoughts on “Fab Food Finds Fridays: Thailand’s Durian Monthong Chips

  1. Pingback: Snacks I bought in Thailand, Cambodia and Vietnam | Edible Cravings

Leave a Reply

